Rise and Shine with Lynn


Anyone that knows me knows that if you bring up the ’90s…we will be having a conversation that lasts at least an hour or so. With that, I’m sure I and Lynn would get along just fine as her sound’s comparable to that of Sheryl Crow (’90s darling!). We talk about the decade at hand, her new single “Rise High” and more…

Kendra: Do you remember the first moment where you felt like a singer and not just someone who could sing?

Lynn: Since I was a little girl, regardless of whether I could or could not sing, I’ve always felt the need to. I started writing at a young age so that became the main part in my music, and it always made me feel better. I think the first time I felt more than just a girl who could sing was when my dad caught me doing karaoke to Barbra Streisand “Women In Love” when I was nine. Sounds awkward but he said I’m actually pretty good. I guess since I just started gaining more and more confidence when I sung. As the time past and I wasn’t just a little girl anymore I started recording and working with people from the industry and being told I’m a singer made me believe it more.

Kendra: Perhaps when you were singing along to those ’90s pop songs. What about that genre have you always loved, and what artists helped shape that adoration?

Lynn: I love and listen to music from all times and actually from many genres (Pop, Rock, Reggae, Rap, etc.). What I love about the 90’s, besides it being nostalgic is the groove & vibe. Gets me moving throughout the whole song. As a little girl, I used to listen a lot to Jesse Mccartney, Christina Aguilera, Nelly Furtado, Britney Spears to name a few.

Kendra: Your sound is more like that than the pop today that’s very electronically influenced. Why didn’t you want to go the more modern pop route?

Lynn: It wasn’t really a decision, it was just what felt right to Yoad Nevo (the producer) and me.

Kendra: Now it’s time to do some word association. Please just give me the first word that comes to mind when you read the following pop artists’ names…

Lynn: Yay games!
Spice Girls: Girl power
Hanson: Breakup
Ace of Base: Fun
Mariah Carey: Perfection
Backstreet Boys: Potential boyfriends?
N’SYNC: Justin Timberlake
Britney Spears: Childhood

Kendra: Back to your music. Where were you mentally when you came up with “Rise High?”

Lynn: I was pretty much a wreck, and while I rather not get into details I guess it’s obvious I was upset about a guy.

Kendra: What do you have planned for the rest of the year? Any touring?

Lynn: I plan on releasing more songs, record and work with interesting new people, start performing live and take opportunities that come in hand.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape of songs that you just “Can’t Let Go,” what five songs would have to be on there?

Lynn: Well I don’t think I could live in a world with just five songs, or even five mixtapes πŸ™‚ I listen to different music every day.
Since this really is the toughest question from all I’ll just give you the last five songs from my recently played playlist:

β€œWarm Shadow” Fink
β€œBongo Bong” Manu Chao
β€œLet It Happen” Tame Impala
β€œCupid’s Chokehold/Breakfast In America” Gym Class Heroes
β€œAnimal Instinct” The Cranberries

Leave a comment