Get Well Cards: Pretty Good Science

get-well-cards-pretty-good-scienceIt’s been over a week and I am having American Horror Story withdrawals. I was left with a few questions and less answers, but figured the moral of the season was that everyone has two sides to them; evil and good, and it’s up to the individual to decide which shines brighter. That not only came to mind because a piece of my TV shaped heart is missing, but because as I was listening to Get Well CardsPretty Good Science EP, I noticed it was split down the middle. One song, youth filled pop punk and the other its older brother that had a more mature tone, both created by Get Well Cards and causing me to wonder how many other sides this band had…

Since this EP was only a couple songs deep, it was hard to grasp what Get Well Cards was all about. I could only go based off the pair I had in hand, and as I said before; pop punk and mature rock. “It’s Not The City” was your typical pop punk song. The vocals were nasally and it sounded like they were playing the Ernie Ball Stage at Warped. Personally it was more my style, but all in all it was “Radio Static” that stood out as a more put together track. The construction played more uniformly and the addition of the full chorus towards the end made it finish strong.

In the end Pretty Good Science left me with one band and two personalities. So I still wonder what Get Well Cards is all about, but have a good idea they lie somewhere between, once again, pop punk and mature rock. So if your iPod has a cascade of bands that start at New Found Glory and ends at The Killers, then you’ll like Get Well Cards Pretty Good Science, out now.

4 thoughts on “Get Well Cards: Pretty Good Science

Leave a comment