Christina Holmes Stands Up and Sings Proud


Right around the time Christina Holmes and I crossed paths she was coming off the road with Nahko and Medicine for the People. A “dream come true” for the acoustic singer, she nestled back into home life after what her fiance has called her “post-tour coma.” A period of one to three days of well-deserved sleep. Now she’s wide awake and ready to get back to working on a new album. We talked about what to expect from the follow up to her very personal Stand Up, discovering a new side of herself and more as she sat in her home in the smallest state known to the US.

Kendra: Now that you’re home, you have time to focus on your third record. You seemed to get really personal on Stand Up. How will the next vary in terms of storytelling and perspective?

Christina Holmes: I think Stand Up showed a huge amount of growth from my first record and I think my new record will also do the same. As you said, I got really personal on Stand Up and I intend on going further into my rabbit hole with my fans to show a greater perspective of my life. I think it will also show growth in not only lyricism but in my overall writing.

Kendra: There were a couple standouts on Stand Up. The first being “Forget Me Not.” There’s a lot going on in this one, but I think it’s important to talk about your comfortability with yourself as a queer woman. Was that something you’d been internally struggling with a long time?

Christina Holmes: I had gone my entire life without knowing that side of me. I never struggled until I finally found my now fiancé. The struggle wasn’t in that I was gay but more with the fact that I finally found who I was meant to be with and I couldn’t be with her. I knew she was the love of my life but she was already married and I was not going to be the one to ruin that. So for two years I struggled and didn’t tell a soul how I felt. After she ended things with her ex, Lindsay ended up kissing me and making my dreams come true. We have been together since that moment.

Kendra: Another one is “Always” which you penned for your late father. Sorry to hear of his passing. Was he one of the first to support your creative path in life?

Christina Holmes: He was the first person to get me interested in music but was definitely not the first to support me. I had written and played music since I was eight but it wasn’t until I was 18 and in college, until I found my voice to share it. I know deep down he always supported me but he wanted me to finish college and I ended up dropping out and never looking back. It wasn’t until years after when he saw me play for the first and only time where he finally said he was proud. It was a month before he passed away. I was opening for Trevor Hall at Irving Plaza. After I played my set he came up, hugged me and said, “I get it and I’m proud. I’m glad you didn’t listen to me”.

Kendra: When it comes to the new album, will you be doing a lot of writing in Rhode Island?

Christina Holmes: I am always writing. So most of the songs are written in RI but some were written while on tour.

Kendra: As someone who is not well traveled, what sort of adjectives would be in a song about the smallest state in the US?

Christina Holmes: Loving, loyal, scenic, beautiful, and humble.

Kendra: Can we talk about Betty really quick? You don’t know how envious I am of your VW Bus. My dream car. How long have you had her and do you see her as the vehicle embodiment of your sound in any way?

Christina Holmes: I have had her since March of 2015. I think she embodies my sound and my soul. Betty is me, but a car.

Kendra: Other than working on the new album, what other plans on deck for the new year?

Christina Holmes: I will be heading out on my first ever headlining tour and will be releasing a bunch of new visuals for my songs.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape for a day driving around in Betty, what five would have to be on it?

Christina Holmes:
Fast Car” by Tracy Chapman
Surfer Girl” by The Beach Boys
Could You Be Loved” by Bob Marley
Budding Trees” by Nahko and Medicine for the People
Indigo” by Trevor Hall

Leave a comment