Sick/Sea: Moral Compass

Sitting on campus outside the door as my best friend takes steps towards her future, I’m at a standstill with Sick/Sea’s Moral Compass playing. Audrey Scott’s voice is like a songbird narrator of my afternoon. Everyone moving in fast motion and me, Zach Braff blending in against a wall. Moral Compass doesn’t mirror my current state though. It would if I was a girl with heartbreak issues, but alas I’m a loner, but the album does make for a good companion.

Let’s get straight to the head the class with “Parasite.” It’s angry chick (mellow) rock at its best. It’s clearly a tale of a girl who’s been cheated on. She insists she gets it, but she obviously doesn’t, and this just shows off the female mentality; say one thing and mean another. Following close behind is musical goodness is “Robot.” When you start with “When I was a robot,” you know things aren’t going to be normal. The rest plays out of a rambling of weird. It sounds like that of an intoxicated ex or a Barenaked Ladies song. In no way is Sick/Sea like the “One Week” men style wise. It’s just the random way their lyrics come out that draws the comparison.

Falling in-between the good and the not so great is “Blinked.” The vocals are sweet and this could be the ballad at the end of a pop record if the music was tweaked a bit. May this be the anthem for every guy or gal who landed in the friend zone. Just know they’ll regret it one day (hopefully).

When it comes to ones that didn’t make a lasting mark…”Master Splinter” didn’t give me turtle power and “Mermaids” failed to connect with me on any level.

The pace of the world never wound down but the music did as Sick/Sea’s Moral Compass slowed down after its last journey through my ear waves. If you’re into bands like Best Coast, Belle Historie and Dum Dum Girls than do yourself a solid and pick up Sick/Sea’s Moral Compass, out October 16th.

2 thoughts on “Sick/Sea: Moral Compass

Leave a comment