Viper Creek Club: Hot Lights

Late nights after work, my brain is still swimming from the noise of school children and shrieking defiance. It’s a wonder that I would chose to put on a record that is anything but tranquil. Yet, somehow, I am relaxed in the sounds of heavy synths and in-your-face vocals. I don’t mind imagining the sensation of my sweat pooling off my skin ad dripping to the dance floor under the Hot Lights, which, happens to be the title of Viper Creek Club’s latest EP.

Because I Know,” feels merely like an appetizer in comparison to some other tracks; it loosens up the muscles, there to release that initial stage of tension. “I Want You,” and “Count It Out,” puts the listener directly into their dancing shoes and away from the worries that may reside outside the club. What everyone needs to be concerned about is that hot babe across the room, ready to take you and take you home.

Hot Lights is not devoid of tenderness, however. The only slow jam on the record, “In the Living Room,” is perhaps the most sexually intimate song that has penetrated my eardrums in a long time. The lyrics are blatant; “I want your skin on mine, in the living room.” It completes the EP, a proper closing for a night out after the stress and strain of everyday living.

If you’re an adult on a budget, on a schedule, not always able to make it to the nearest hot spot on town, take Viper Creek Club’s Hot Lights EP out for a spin or two and revel in the sexiness of big city living.

Leave a comment