Phoenix O’Neill Delivers Hope In a Cruel World


Often times we have to make do with what we have. Phoenix O’Neill knew just that when she decided to utilize her iPhone to start her indie-pop career. Her DIY, go-getter attitude was on the table as was her polar opposite performance muses, and what’s to come from her as she wraps up 2017 in the UK.

Kendra: You’ve noted that you started making music using your iPhone. That’s a pretty normal thing today, but of course would be impossible even 15 years ago. Had you been an artist in even the ’90s, how do you feel you’d be faring in a DIY space?

Phoenix O’Neill: I’ve always written songs and I guess I would have used whatever was available at the time. I would have found a way to do it in the same way as I am now.

Kendra: Thankfully you’re in the here and now and with your latest single “Cruel World.” It’s easy to take this as a song inspired by a lot of 2017 as the year hasn’t been ideal. What personally has made this song come to mind?

Phoenix: It’s about a lot of hard times and low moments that I experienced in my early teens. I held these emotions in for years and all of a sudden it came out in this song.

Kendra: You’re no stranger to the stage. I saw you have a show coming up in mid-November. What performers did you look up to growing up that you took notes on when it came to singing live?

Phoenix: I’ve always loved Beyoncé and watching her perform. Her confidence is inspiring. She always puts on a great show and a real performer. I also liked Adele for the complete opposite. It was all about her voice. All she had to do was stand there and sing and you still felt like you had seen something amazing.

Kendra: Will you have more shows before the year’s done? What about 2018, any plans so far?

Phoenix: I am playing a couple more shows in December which I am looking forward to. I am very excited about the release of my single “Cruel World” and the journey it will take me on. I’m looking forward to releasing an EP and potentially going on tour.

Kendra: Living in a pretty cruel world right now, if you had to make a mixtape that was about hope – what five songs would have to be on it?

Phoenix:
Happy” by Pharrell Williams
Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson
Where Is The Love?” by The Black Eyed Peas
Single Ladies” by Beyoncé
Same Jeans” by The View

Leave a comment