BO’s Desert Calling


It’s funny how one place can bring someone solace, while driving another mad. Take the desert for instance. Growing up in one, it makes my soul hurt to be there too long even though I love my family, but for Toronto born BO – it’s where she finds solace. Calling her visits there “therapeutic,” she managed to make her way to Vegas to film her latest video for “Baby Come Back” from her upcoming album Wasting the Weekend. We found out about an uncomfortable but not too unusual instance during the video shoot, talked about fashion and learned that when it comes to choosing, BO’s thinks that’s a suckers game…

Kendra: When it came time to make the video for “Baby Come Back,” where was all that done?

BO: The video was shot in Vegas. I love Vegas! It has such an epic, trash glam vibe. I think I could live there.

Kendra: Any horror stories from the set, or was it all smooth sailing?

BO: No horror stories, really…When we were shooting on a median in the middle of the road, in Old Vegas, some guy came out of nowhere, hammered, full sloshing beer in hand, and tried to grab my ass…but I managed to slink out of the way just in time.

Kendra: With a very vibrant style and sound, is there any artist you listen to that we’d be surprised to know was floating around your iTunes?

BO: I don’t know that you’d find anything surprising, really. I just love great songwriting. Everything from Dolly Parton, Beck, Dead Weather and Kendrick Lamar…all of those artists make such great music.

Kendra: Now you are a fan of some pretty big names in pop. So we’re going to play a game with them called “Duet, Cover, Perform With.” When it comes to Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus, and Charli XCX, which would you want to perform with, do a duet with and just simply cover?

BO: I want to do all three things with all three artists. Choosing is for suckers!

Kendra: Speaking of those gals, you posted a pic of two of them and you rocking the same boots. Some people don’t like to admit it, but style plays a lot into an artist’s overall image. Do you agree that fashion is a key part of it all?

BO: Definitely! Especially personal style – it’s such an extensions of our personalities, even more so as an artist. I used to dress more conservatively to blend in, which doesn’t match my personality. I think that, especially as a girl (in my experience), there can be a lot of societal pressure to not be flashy or sexy. Shutting those voices out was a major turning point for me and how I try to approach fashion – and life in general – these days. I can honestly say I’ve never had a bad time wearing those white, thigh high, snakeskin boots!

@xolovebo

Kendra: What else is going on with you this year?

BO: I’ll be in the UK this fall and I have another single coming out very soon!

Kendra: With fall right around the corner, if you had to make a mixtape that was a sort of farewell to summer – what five songs would have to be on it?

BO: TBH I don’t really listen to a lot of music when I’m writing. But here are 5 songs I’ve heard lately(ish) that’ve spoken to me in one way or another:

Charli XCX – “Boys
Post Malone – “Congratulations
Tove Lo – “Cool Girl
Kendrick Lamar – “DNA
Kesha “Praying

Leave a Reply

