Brie Angellina’s Sweet Sounds


Sooner than later Brie Angellina will be dropping her debut EP, Honeyed Words. A beautiful blend of alluring R&B and youthful pop. She described it in a few of her own sweet words when the new record came up. Brie also spilled about working with Austin Mahone, her Angels and selfie game, and a whole lot more like how she often borrowed her grandma’s scarves for the greater good.

Kendra: What first got you interested in dancing, acting, singing…overall performing?

Brie Angellina: I started taking dance classes when I was three. I feel like these classes awakened a passion of performing for me. My cousin Lexi and I always used to put on shows for my family. I’m not kidding when I tell you our “show” was every single day at my grandparent’s house. I would dress up in my nana’s scarfs and take her finger cymbals and dance around the house to Shakira and Donna Summer.

I loved singing and dancing for my family and that ultimately led me to taking actual classes as I got older. My mom put me in dance class, acting class, gymnastics, and cheerleading. She could see how much I enjoyed it so she did everything she could to make me feel fulfilled and happy.

Ultimately, I got into singing lessons at 18, even though I always had a love for singing. It was time to be serious about it. I can remember being on the playground at preschool and pretending I was in my own musical. Instead of playing with the other kids, I would walk around by myself and sing out loud about this boy I liked, sometimes in front of him too. Who did I think I was? That will always stick with me.

Kendra: All that talent led you to some pretty awesome stuff like appearing in Austin Mahone’s “Say Somethin” video. I know his fans can be intense. Did they come for you, or embrace you?

Brie: Yea they can be intense but that’s only because they love him so much and want to protect him you know? They did “come for me” at first on social media, but after a little, they started to see who I really was, that I’m a genuine person. I had to gain their respect in a way.

Kendra: Speaking of, you have your own fans called Brie’s Angels. Did you ever think when you started out that you’d have your own Beyhive sort of thing going on?

Brie: Actually no. It’s really cool to see now that people look out for your stuff and take interest and appreciation in what you are doing. When I release new music or have a photo shoot it’s very rewarding to hear positive feedback from people who look up to you and support you. They are so loyal and I love them so much. They are just genuine people who I’ve grown really close with, like family. Many of them have been with me since 2013 when I first started putting out covers. They have always seen potential in me and never gave up on my vision. There’s no fake love between us, you can feel the authentic love we all have for each other.

Kendra: Growing up, were you ever part of a fandom like that?

Brie: Oh my gosh yes! I was a part of the Brittany Spears, Backstreet Boys and NSYNC fandoms. Oh, I can’t forget Aaron Carter. Wow, I loved him so much. When I got older and Justin Bieber was up and coming I clenched onto that fandom so quick. I’m still a proud Belieber!

Kendra: Okay so let’s talk about why you have all these devotees, the music! When you think of your Honeyed Words EP, what three sweet words would you use to describe it?

Brie: Sultry, raw and vivid.

Kendra: You’ve got this nice balance of pop and R&B. Did you grow up listening to a good deal of both, or is your taste completely different than the music you make?

Brie: I definitely grew up listening to both, which is the type of music I make as an artist. I would listen to Brittany Spears and Christina Aguilera but I would also listen to Aaliyah, Destiny’s Child, TLC, Ashanti, No Doubt, Prince and Amy Winehouse.

Kendra: Diving into your Instagram, you love a good selfie. What is the number one rule when taking the perfect selfie?

Brie: GOOD LIGHTING!!!! You can’t have a good selfie when the lighting is way off. Also, make sure your face is poppin’.

@brieangellina

Kendra: Back to the music. Will fans be seeing you soon out on the road with Honeyed Words?

Brie: Yes I plan on traveling and performing my new record.

Kendra: Your lead single off Honeyed Words is “Lullaby,” with that if you had to make a mixtape featuring the best songs to listen to before bed what five would have to be on it?

Brie: Wow that’s a tough one there are sooooo many songs that I absolutely love! If I had to narrow it down the playlist would be:

Jhené Aiko “Space Jam
Amy Winehouse “Me & Mr. Jones
Aaliyah “Are You That Somebody
SZA “Garden (Say It Like Dat)
Lana Del Rey “Money Power Glory

Wow, I really just created the perfect playlist.

Leave a Reply

