The Sweet and Sour Side of Stela Cole


A horrendous ex. We’ve all been there but instead of just sitting and thinking about them and letting it ruin her life, Stela Cole took a more creative approach and put pen to paper for her latest single, “You F O.” We, of course, had to talk all about that but also her sweet tooth, coming up in Atlanta, what she’ll be releasing next and a bit more.

Kendra: Growing up in Atlanta, were you ever influenced by the music scene that came up there?

Stela Cole: I’m super thankful I got to grow up in Atlanta because we are not just known for our crazy hip-hop scene, but we are also known for making unique, funky grooves that show individuality.

Though I haven’t taken much influence from specific artists here or dug my way into the hip-hop scene, I can remember growing up listening to everything from Otis Redding to John Mayer, to Childish Gambino. I think what I have discovered from listening to these artists, however, is that finding what makes your sound unique is the key to having a successful career as a musician. Don’t make music to sound like someone, make music to show someone who you are and what you have to say.

Kendra: When it came time to write and record “You F O,” were you channeling a specific instance you went through or person you’ve said adios to in your life?

Stela: When it came to writing “You F O,” I was specifically thinking of an ex I had. I wasn’t writing about my anger I currently had towards him because I had moved on a while back. However, I went deep into my memories and rediscovered all the selfish, hurtful, and stupid things he said to me while we were dating, and from there my ideas spilled out. Thinking back to our not-so-perfect relationship fueled everything I wrote in that song…I’d be shocked if my ex didn’t know the song was about him.

Kendra: Okay so I love to dig into Instagrams and I noticed you have a bit of a sweet tooth. Donuts, ice cream all the good stuff. So if you had to compare “You F O” to a sweet treat, which would it be and why?

Stela: Good God I have a sweet tooth…I mean, I eat pretty much anything and everything in general but you can always find me eating something sugary, ha! If I could compare my song “You F O” to any sweet, I’d definitely compare it to Sour Patch Kids. The lyrics are so sassy and in- your-face like the sourness of the candy, but the playfulness found within the melody and production of the song is sweet just like chewy inside.

Kendra: Hitting the studio with VCDC, were you more excited or intimidated since their roster includes the likes of Rihanna?

Stela: When I started working with VCDC, I was honestly both nervous and excited. At this point, I had never worked with a team of people, and I had never written with anybody before…But after our first day in the studio, I knew it was going to be an amazing journey, and I knew we were going to make some serious head bangin’ tunes together. My team is absolutely phenomenal and I could not be any luckier to work with them. They know how to bring out what makes me unique and they are responsible for how much I’ve grown within this past year.

Kendra: Was there anything VCDC brought to the surface of your artistry that may have been hiding?

Stela: Like I said, VCDC has really brought out my individuality and uniqueness as an artist and songwriter. When I first started working with them, I was constantly trying to mock the sounds of my musical inspirations. I wanted to be the next Lana Del Rey, the next Rihanna, or the next whoever. VCDC told me not to be the next anything…they told me to be Stela Cole. They helped bring out MY personality in my lyrics, and MY sense of humor and presence in my delivery. They saw my potential and sought a way to bring out my weird, unique streak to show to the rest of the world.

Kendra: Will we be getting an album from you this year?

Stela: I will not be releasing an album this year, but I’m writing new music every single day and I’m already working on my future sound. It will show more of my emotional side for sure, which I think is super important to do as an artist.

Kendra: What’s up with you musically speaking in the next few months?

Stela: These next few months are pretty exciting ones for me actually. I will be releasing a couple more singles (which I am very thrilled about), and ultimately putting all my singles together to form a compilation EP. The next single happens to be my favorite song I’ve written, and I cannot wait to share it with everyone.

Kendra: Let’s go back to Atlanta. If you had to make a mixtape featuring the best from there, what five songs would have to be on it?

Stela: Oh man, haha… this is a hard one! If I had to choose five songs to put on a mixtape… they would probably be…

Wyclef Jean” Young Thug
Boogie Man” Childish Gambino
Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” Otis Redding
Moving on and Getting Over” John Mayer
4 AM” 2 Chainz

There are so many incredible artists I listen to and they span over so many different genres, so this mixtape calls for some serious diversity!

Leave a Reply

