The Retro Bang of Bianca Gisselle


Over 10k plays on Soundcloud, spots in some big movies and TV shows and a single that really knows how to make some noise. What hasn’t Bianca Gisselle done this year? We really didn’t get to what she hasn’t done, but rather what she has in this back and forth where we chat about the ’60s, rough nights, her latest single “Bang Bang” and much more!

Kendra: Moving for your career is a big step. When did you decide on leaving Orlando for LA?

Bianca Gisselle: I always knew I needed to move to a bigger city in order to pursue my art. LA was a scary thought at first, especially because it was so far away. But it also offered a challenge that gave me even more motivation.

Kendra: Did you move to LA with both music and acting on the agenda?

Bianca: Yep! I’ve always juggled both and I get down if I neglect one for the other too long.

Kendra: What about the ’60s inspires you musically?

Bianca: I’ve always been in love with the artists of that time. Jackie Wilson, Otis Redding, Janis Joplin, The Shirelles, The Ronettes and so much more have always influenced me. They each have so much soul but also a playful sassiness. I like mixing that rawness of emotion with modern production.

Kendra: Was any of that present when it came time to write and record “Bang Bang?”

Bianca: Absolutely. I definitely tried to draw some of that raw emotion into the vocals but the lyrics have a bit of sass to them too. Being a confident woman that’s also playful.

Kendra; So far you’ve had some major success with placements. We could recently hear your music in ads for Rough Night and Claws. Congrats on that by the way! Do you remember what it was like to hear your music on that level for the first time?

Bianca: Thanks! Watching Rough Night was really exciting. Hearing my voice in the club montage scene was really cool. I look up to those actresses so hearing my voice while watching them was on another level.

Kendra: Those are entertaining movies and shows, but what’s one show as both a singer and an actor you’d love to be a part of?

Bianca: This is going to get dark but I’d love to be a part of The Walking Dead. Maybe I can be the guitar playing, soul singing, badass zombie killer. And I have a sword in my guitar. I’d be so down for that.

Kendra: “Bang Bang” is the second single you’ve dropped this year, any plans for more? Any touring we should be on the lookout for?

Bianca: Definitely releasing more music and playing more shows in LA. I have the full EP called Get Back to Love: Side B coming later this year. It’s a part two of my previous EP Get Back to Love: Side A which is currently available. I’m so excited for everyone to hear the new music and I’m excited to bring them to life on stage.

Kendra: Circling back to the ’60s, if you had to make a mixtape for someone new to the decade, what five songs would have to be on it?

Bianca: Great question!
Try a Little Tenderness” – Otis Redding
A Change is Gonna Come” – Sam Cooke
Be My Baby” – The Ronettes
Mama Said” – The Shirelles
Lonely Teardrops” – Jackie Wilson

One thought on “The Retro Bang of Bianca Gisselle

Leave a Reply

