Thursday Tracks: Billboard Thoughts


Listening to the radio seems like an antiquity, something remembered from my childhood as I don’t drive now and my fiance doesn’t have a car. So I don’t really hear new songs so I decided to take a listen to the songs topping Billboard’s Hot 100 Chart. With that, I gave my initial thoughts. One of them being…how is Bieber on every other song? Also, why was there only ONE woman?

Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber “Despacito”

Listening to something with Daddy Yankee feels wrong, but I can see why this is number one on the charts.

Bruno Mars “That’s What I Like”

This is a song soccer mom’s fall in love with during carpool season.

DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne “I’m the One”

You really need the visual with this song because OMG it looks like the oddest boy band ever. One has to wonder how Bieber went from bubblegum pop to being the token white boy in every song.

Kendrick Lamar “Humble”

Is it supposed to sound like he has a speech impediment?

Ed Sheeran “Shape of You”

It makes me uncomfortable that Ed Sheeran can break it down like this.

Future “Mask Off”

Fuck Benedryl, this song is my new “night, night” drug.

Zedd & Alessia Cara “Stay”

Fact: Zedd could be sitting right next to me and I’d never know, but Alessia…LOVE. Probably one of the only newer artists that I’ve come to really appreciate.

The Chainsmokers & Coldplay “Something Just Like This”

A song moms and daughters can bond over at Coachella.

Lil Uzi Vert “XO TOUR Llif3”

Who dis? Remember back in the day when a song was in the top 10, everyone knew it without trying? Like, my mom knew “MMMBop” because it was everywhere. This? I don’t even know what a Lil Uzi is…

Leave a Reply

