Women in Music I’m Thankful For

tumblr_n66tgm2jih1s9laueo1_500
We’ll get back to women in work in music next week when we conclude a month of looking at the wonderful women who help insure some of your favorite venues run smoothly. So with this break we’re going to look at women who’ve influenced me in music that I am thankful for – you know, since tomorrow is turkey day and everything.

The Chipettes

The first girl group I ever fell in love with and who taught me the best pop songs from Madonna and Cyndi Lauper.

Mariah Carey

A woman who oozes femininity should be far from my list, but for some reason I’ve always admired for her diva ways.

Alanis Morissette

The words from Jagged Little Pill still remain one of my happy places to this day.

Hayley Williams

Paramore has always put out solid music, but what Hayley and the guys did on their self-titled continues to be the soundtrack for my late 20’s. On top of that, she’s one of a performer.

Alessia Cara

New to my realm, I respect any woman who says adios to the constant bombardment of what’s expected of them by society.

Leave a Reply

