GML: Making Moments

giphy
The first time I ever went to Warped Tour I was 18 and fresh out of high school. I was also fresh out of good ideas since I stupidly wore pants and wanted to die the whole day. Instead though I got through it and went every year for the next 10 years. This weekend though will be the first time I opt out. With only one band I care to see, this was really the only weekend I had free to see one of the only people in the world I genuinely care about – and maybe it’s because I’m getting older (not in mind but in body), but I didn’t want to miss a moment.

While Mindy Kaling’s second book was not as great as her first – there was one life lesson that has stuck with me. She hates weddings and hates traveling to see her friends get married BUT explains that with their busy schedules and lives going in different directions the rest of the year, she will almost always make time to ensure that she does not miss those big moments, the ones that will forever resonate memories. I remember when the first person from my graduating class passed away mostly because another friend of mine texted me that we need to see one another more because you just never know when you’ll see them again. This is why I saved up and headed to Portland to see my best friend graduate law school and that’s why I’m skipping Warped this year to see her before she moves back to the Bay Area to start putting that degree to good use.

I will miss seeing New Found Glory this weekend, but after a day at Taste of Chaos – my old ass cannot stand that heat once more. Plus, I really wanna see my first before she sets off on another adventure. So what moment will you make this weekend, this month, this year? Perhaps you’ll see Emily Cilbourn who’ll be touring soon? You can check out her dates below. Come September The Amity Affliction, Parkway Drive, and Iji will be on tour. Iji will be out with a favorite of ours, Frankie Cosmos. Come October Modern Baseball will hit the road with Brand New, and the following month will see Neko Case will head out for a short run.

unnamed

Slow Club “In Waves”

Black Foxxes “Whatever Lets You Cope”

Captives “Vines”

Steve ‘n’ Seagulls “Aces High”

Mossy “Waterfall”

Leave a Reply

