#FBF: Alanis Morissette ‘Jagged Little Pill’

Alanis_Morissette_-_Jagged_Little_Pill
One of the greatest gifts Canada gave us in the 90’s minus Ryan Gosling was Alanis Morissette. Alone often, I sometimes just want to sit and sing at the top of my lungs and Jagged Little Pill is the album to do that to. My go to girl power anthemic alternative rock of my youth, this album will forever sit high on a shelf alongside Good Charlotte, the soundtrack to Josie and the Pussycats, Paramore and From Under the Cork Tree (which got cut this month for Taste of Chaos coverage – sorry Fall Out Boy). My teenage years, my love of pop rock, my 20’s in a nutshell and this one – my angst ridden feminism bound together by clever lines and harmonica laced breakdowns that are golden.

There isn’t a kid who was alive and able to hear in the 90’s who didn’t sing along to “Ironic” and wish to be in that car with a few other people who looked exactly like them with various hairstyles. I remember singing this coming home from a beach trip senior year, the last big thing my friends and I did before we graduated – to my knowledge. They were all cooler than me, so they likely had summer parties to attend. I also remember writing my own version of “Hand in My Pocket” for a required musical audition in high school. How cruel to make us ALL audition even if we had no intention of being in the damn play. I must say though, my acoustic rendition of my version got some giggles from my teachers. Where those lyrics are today? Possibly tucked away in some journal…I’ll look. I mean, not right now but one day.

When it comes to the songs that I could never tire of on this album…Oh my lord, if I could see this woman live and sing along to “Right Through You” and “Head Over Feet,” I could die happy. Well not really, I have some other shit on the ol’ bucket list – but seeing Alanis live is one of them. You don’t know how mad I still am at myself for not accepting a broke life and shelling out the money for a ticket to the tour she did with my other 90’s loves – Matchbox 20, but as my girl sings, “You Learn,” right? I learned that tours like that don’t happen every day – so JUST GO DAMMIT. Live your childhood dreams out.

Leave a Reply

