#FBF: Paramore’s Eponymous Mark

Paramore-self-titled-cover-400x400
The summer of 2006 was a very transformative one for me musically. Perhaps that had to do with it being the first summer after college and I was spending a lot of time alone in the den of my mom’s trailer with a dial-up internet connection and new found sonic infatuations. Yeah, that alone time with nothing but a message board and some music was definitely it. The Academy Is, Cute Is What We Aim For, Jack’s Mannequin and Paramore – those were not only things I listened to, but the majority of my company and I fell hard. Which in reality, no one should attach themselves that hard to Cute, but alas I stuck more to Paramore and have enjoyed them – for the most part – ever since. Yes, we broke up for awhile when I felt they were phoning it in, but oh my lawd…when they dropped their self-titled in 2013…it gave me life before I even knew what that phrase meant.

Then I was mere weeks away from being closer to 30 than 20 and that is never an easy pill to swallow, and songs like “Grow Up” and “Ain’t It Fun” slid into my psyche and became my go-to anthems about sticking to my guns and continuing to do my own thing despite the side eyes from reality that worked overtime to get me down. A year later I’d adopted “(One of Those) Crazy Girls” and really learned the hard way what it meant to date. If I ever have a child, I will tell them to not wait so long to interact with people on a romantic level. I mean, I’m not going to push my kid into sex at 13, but I don’t want them to grow up being an awkward as fuck and emotionally stunted adult who overreacts due to a crush in their late 20’s. It’s not pretty, and it’s quite embarrassing when you are writing about it, and thinking back (shake those memories Kendra, shake ‘em off). Today however, the craziness is gone and the songs about love and relationships – the good aspects – are what I connect to most. “Proof,” how could you not be in love and absolutely fall for every note of that and think, yup – that’s it.

Good Charlotte and the Josie and The Pussycats’ soundtrack are favorites from when I was a weird fat kid in middle school thinking life was harder than it really was. Paramore though, that’s been an album that’s really helped bookmark some of the ultimate lows and the greatest highs of this decade known as my 20’s. For that, it will always remain a permanent fixture on my favorite album list.

Leave a Reply

