Get Inside ‘Gone Fishkin’ with it’s Mighty Host Mike

Gone Fishkin Photo - 2015
When someone mentions Good Charlotte being the reason they wanted to start a life in music, you know you’re dealing with good people. Maybe I’m bias because that remains one of my favorites, but nevertheless Mike Fishkin is great guy who decided he had to be in a band in fifth grade thanks to “The Anthem.” Fast forward to when his band didn’t quite make it after a couple of shows. He was still interested in the industry and started working with local bands, learning the back end of touring and promotion. Today Mike’s made memorable memories (more on that in a second) covering the likes of Warped Tour and SXSW, and currently spends a lot of his time hosting his very own music centric podcast; “Gone Fishkin.” Now we’ll get to know more about man behind the mic, his show and what’s to come.

Kendra: You’ve covered a lot of notable events from Grammy parties to SXSW to Warped Tour. If you got amnesia but somehow were able to remember one of the many events you’ve covered – which do you think would survive because it was that damn memorable?

Mike Fishkin: 100% would never want to forget covering my first Warped Tour. It was always a dream of mine to be on the tour and attending it every year since 2007, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. My first time really on the road I was definitely a little intimidated but everyone on the tour made everything really easy to adjust to. A lot of the bands on the tour that year were bands I had seen on the tour in prior years and getting to hangout with them at the BBQs and get to know some of them on a more personal rather than business level was one of the coolest things. On that tour I also made a lot of friends I still keep in touch with on a pretty regular basis.

Kendra: For those who haven’t tuned in yes, what’s the overall tone of your podcast? Kind of a bummer like Maron’s, angry like Rogan’s (it’s clear I only know comics) or something else?

Mike: I’d like to think of the tone of my show as comedic (at least I laugh, I also pay my co-hosts to laugh along with me) and informational. Not like slamming the listeners with facts informational but tell the listeners about new music, new tours, and fun stuff. Also I’m a big foodie so I talk a lot about food.

WWS000187-2
Kendra: Has being out in Long Island shaped the feel of the show in any way?

Mike: Being on Long Island for the first 23 years of my life definitely shaped my show. I was very spoiled that most of the tours always hit Long Island and/or New York City. The area I’m from was the basically the midway point of all the Long Island venues and NYC venues so getting to shows was never a problem. I’d say a good 90% of the bands I play on my show have been from seeing these bands in super tiny venues in either NYC or Long Island and writing them down to download when I get home.

Kendra: What made you want to go ahead and have guest co-hosts, and what makes someone a good copilot each week?

Mike: I like the different personalities in studio every week. It brings a very unique aspect to the show each and every time. I know if I was listening and just heard me week after week I wouldn’t tune in haha. Since I started I’ve always had different bands on for an interview, some shows would have one band calling in others three, but when it’s one person/band the whole dynamic changes. It’s always fun to see what my co-hosts are listening to and what they want to talk about. My show is live most of the time so when it’s a band or person that has a large following it’s fun to see how people react on twitter and what they want me to tell the guests. As long as the person is down that makes them an awesome co-host to me!

Kendra: The show is pop punk/alternative centric, but being an aspiring actor – do you ever think you’ll shift and do a podcast that’s more about that industry?

Mike: I don’t think I’ll ever make it about the acting industry. I’ve had some actors/actresses on my show in the past including Alan Ritchson from Blue Mountain State and the cast of Bridge And Tunnel. I love acting and appreciate film/good comedies but I love music way too much to put anything else in front of it.

Kendra: What can listeners expect from “Gone Fishkin” in the coming months?

Mike: In the coming months I’m going to be on air every Thursday playing some of my favorite songs, talking to great bands, and taking the listeners requests! Also this summer I’ll be on the entire Vans Warped Tour for Warped idobi Radio! I can’t wait to finally do the whole tour.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape for a killer fishing trip, what five songs would have to be on it?

Mike: This is a great question!
Head First In The River” – Envy On The Coast
Suckers” – Giants At Large
On My Way” – Cardiknox
Perfect” – One Direction
Mo Money Mo Problems” – The Notorious B.I.G.

One thought on “Get Inside ‘Gone Fishkin’ with it’s Mighty Host Mike

Leave a Reply

