Francesca: Jersey Girl in a Big Apple World

12237970_10208027613478240_8786261813194556605_o
With drama dreams in her head, Francesca didn’t head too far from home to study at NYU but with a song forever in her – she quickly fell into a musical realm and now she’s focusing on her music with a trusted pal by her side. Living in New York five years now, she’s luckily never had any problems with bed bugs and hopes she never will. She’s also got high hopes when it comes to her music, especially her new EP Sanity which is out now. So we’ll get to what she had to say about that and more!

Kendra: Having a song in your heart since you were merely seven, what first inspired you to sing?

Francesca: I don’t really remember what it was that made me want to sing. But I was ALWAYS singing and my family noticed and they decided to start me with voice lessons so that I could learn to breathe properly and sing with proper placement. From then on it was a wrap; no pun intended.

Kendra: With that, you headed to NYU and studied drama. Is Broadway in your future?

Francesca: Broadway could be in the future. That was the original goal when I came to New York to study Theatre. I always loved being in the school musicals and that’s basically what got me into NYU. I would actually really love to get into television though, I love watching TV and I feel like the quality of television is really high right now, in terms of writing, and acting, and production value and all that good stuff.

Kendra: Right now you’re working on your music with your latest single “Sanity,” which has been described as “a love you can lose yourself in, like water,” but with a twist – the other side of the love; the break-up and who you are when it’s said and done. It’s really poetic, and could aid many going through heartache. Other than this track, what else can help aid someone when they’re going through a breakup?

Francesca: Breaking up sucked. I lost a bunch of weight, and I was really just sad, I didn’t handle it super well. And everybody is different, so the healing process is going to be different for everyone, but you have to be on your own team. Find things to fill up your time, things that you genuinely like doing. Find a friend to talk to. Don’t be afraid to cry. Don’t try to communicate with the ex. At some point, it just becomes okay. Time heals.

Kendra: This is just the first of many songs we’ll hopefully hear from you in the coming months. What is the feel for the other tracks you have in your back pocket and in notebooks right now?

Francesca: Ideally I would like to have all different kinds of feelings and textures and vibes with the music that I make, I think it’s really important to try stuff out and experiment with different styles. I tend to gravitate towards ballad-y songs with a kind of melancholy vibe, and I love R&B, I love soul, I love Jazz, I love hip hop so there’s a little of all that mixed in; that’s mainly what I listen to as well.

Kendra: Will you be working with BXTR once more like with “Sanity?”

Francesca: BXTR and I have been working together for a couple of years now. He composes, records, produces, mixes, and masters for all of my tracks. We are a part of a collective of artists, called Comfy (check out da SoundCloud) that is always working on new projects and looking for new people to collaborate with in the NY/BK area. So yes, more to come from BXTR and Fran.

Kendra: Coming from Jersey, you have a lot of classic rock from the ‘80s in your backyard, but you went a different way. Your sound is all about provoking an emotional response with a blend of R&B and soul, but twisting it up and making it a modern with some synth. In a roundabout way, I’m asking – where did your style evolve from?

Francesca: Probably, in large part, it has developed from years of listening to music. I know what I think sounds good, and what I like to listen to so that’s what I go for. I look up to singers who commit 110%. Barbra Streisand and Beyonce are two obvious female singer role models, they sing with effortless control, and every little detail is a deliberate choice. In terms of style though, Little Dragon, and Kimbra are my go to’s.

tumblr_o28y60vGZZ1qmzt88o2_540
Photo Credit: linifrax.tumblr.com

Kendra: Now you’re over in Brooklyn working and making your way. How much time do you get on a weekly basis away from your day job to work on your craft?

Francesca: I love living and working in Brooklyn, any time not spent at work is spent either listening to tracks, or writing. Jake (BXTR) and I get together as often as possible to record and work on projects.

Kendra: Where’s the one place in New York City you can always count on to make you smile?

Francesca: I used to live across the street from Tompkins Square Park in the East Village. There is a dog park there that I would pass everyday on my way to and from school and I always used to just stop and watch the dog interactions. It was literally the most entertaining thing to do at any time of the day.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape to help someone keep their sanity, what five songs would have to be on it?

Francesca:
Familiar Ground (Solid Steel remix)” – The Cinematic Orchestra
Spiritual State” – Nujabes
Goldmine” Kimbra
Can’t Stop” – Theophilus London feat. Kanye West
Feeling Myself” – Nikki Minaj and Queen B

Leave a Reply

