Friday On Elm Street: One Part Pop, Two Parts Punk and Three Parts Horrifying

friday-on-elm-street-interview-golden-mixtape
Life’s meaning has never been proven, but to me it’s all personal. No two people will ever had the same highs and lows, the same obstacles to overcome, the same experience with life and death. That’s what makes all of our stories unique. Yes, some aren’t so great to read but then there are others whose tales would be read annually like clockwork. Something tells me Frankie Alberti’s would be one you’d go back to time and time again. He survived a major health scare when he was a teen and instead of playing the victim, decided to play music instead. Now he’s making music under Friday On Elm Street and blending two of his favorite thing; fantasy and pop punk.

Kendra: When you hear a name like Friday on Elm Street, you think you’re going to have this rockabilly sound or even a Marilyn Manson vibe. Instead you’re more pop punk and fun. You love ‘80s pop culture, why not go with a lighter movie like Princess Bride or something?

Friday On Elm Street: I started watching horror movies at a young age, probably around seven. I just simply grew up adoring the genre; I always thought creatures and monsters were cool. Practical effects were visually stimulating and it’s fun to see what kind of story unfolds and how characters develop. I also grew up on punk rock and pop punk, I love the punk mindset of being an individual and not caring what others say, it builds great confidence. Meanwhile I’ve loved the energy and upbeat vibes of pop-punk. Since I grew up with all of these different mediums, I wanted to mesh them together and be able to give something back to their respective communities.

I also wanted FOES to basically be my giant love letter to all my inspirations. I chose to go with Friday on Elm Street because I wanted to promote the idea that the horror genre doesn’t always have to be dark and grim, it can be light hearted and fun as well. On the flip side, I wanted to put a twist on the pop-punk genre, expressing a bit more of a creative side to it, a bit more out of the box, albeit a bit campy, but fun and different. I think the name is a perfect example of this, it’s a two very different mediums colliding, establishing a new world, new rules and a different kind of vision.

Kendra: What song do you think Freddy Krueger would play on repeat when he got his hands on Midnight Fun?

Friday On Elm Street: Haha, I think he would enjoy “The Babysitter” since it’s a song where the idea itself is a nod to another horror movie trope. Having a female protagonist, who is commonly portrayed as a babysitter, she defends everyone and unknowingly becomes the hero in the story. I find it to be a pretty cool concept that if in these scenarios with killers such as Freddy himself, it was a babysitter that kicked his ass; it’s really a bit of an uplifting vibe. In my opinion, there is a message to be found in a lot of horror films such as Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday the 13th, if a babysitter can kick a monster’s ass, anybody can do anything they want, we are all capable of taking control and coming out on top in life. Kind of like a David and Goliath thing. Anyway, back on topic, I think Freddy would pick “The Babysitter” because he would see her as a new protagonist and would like to give her a run for her money in his dream world.

Kendra: Since you’re all about blending reality and fantasy and tossing it in a vat of pop punk – do you get a lot of nerds appreciating your sound the same way say I Fight Dragons does?

Friday On Elm Street: Of course! While I can’t speak for I Fight Dragons, I feel people can sense that both bands are incredibly sincere and passionate, also hoping to inspire others out there as well.

Kendra: On a serious note, you had a tumor that really changed your life. When you had to leave school and quit music – what was going through your mind?

Friday On Elm Street: I was a just a bag of mixed emotions. I knew I had to stay strong and preserver but at the same time I was scared as hell. Terrified that I could lose my hearing in my right ear and that I faced possible facial paralysis as well. Basically my whole life was being put on hold and I was living in uncertainty. I knew I had to do a lot of research and find the perfect team to perform my surgery. I would not settle for anything but the very best in regards to a medical team. Words can only do so much when describing what was going through my mind and how I felt. Without personally experiencing a similar situation, you’ll never really know what it is like. Life becomes very surreal and hell like. We’ll leave it at that.

Kendra: Getting through something like that, does it give you this clearer outlook on life?

Friday On Elm Street: Having a successful surgery, I had the tumor completely resected and both my hearing and face were preserved. I can say I’ve been there and back, it gave me a much better understanding and compassion for others that are in that same or similar boat. Which again is why I also wanted to incorporate a reality side to the band, leaving the door open for me to be able to touch upon more serious scenarios. Situations that are real and that people are facing. They need to know that there are others out there that have faced similar struggles and have come out on top, they need to be encouraged and given pick me ups.

Kendra: Let’s get back to the music, what made you pick “Dear Beth” to go out of the gates first on Midnight Fun?

Friday On Elm Street: It’s a fun, light hearted, love song, and just felt right. I think it’s a good way to introduce the idea behind Friday on Elm Street. The song’s lyrics within the first verse and chorus are relatively grounded and sound realistic, but upon the second verse I reference stabbing a zombie to prove my love for Beth. Instantly painting this upbeat, pop punk foundation with a horror twist and then not only just a horror twist but also including pop culture since the song is a reference to Beth Greene from The Walking Dead. The song has instantly collided a traditional love song with a twist and pinch of horror to it, a bit of a romantic-zombie-comedy thing going on. A lot of people can relate to love and have common knowledge of zombies, even if they aren’t familiar with The Walking Dead. They’ll know what a zombie is and understand the task at hand when a character has to fight a zombie. Saying that in a song, it’s just a more fun and elaborate way of saying “I love you.”

Kendra: Do you have any plans to hit the road in support of the record?

Friday On Elm Street: Plans are being discussed at the moment, so yes; it’s in the works.

Kendra: In the spirit of your name as well as the time of year. If you had to make a mixtape for a killer Halloween party, what five songs would be on it?

Friday On Elm Street: This is an awesome question. Really tough too. In no specific order:

The Dickies – “Killer Klowns (From Outer Space)
Ray Park Jr – “Ghostbusters
Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs – “Little Red Riding Hood
Michael Jackson – “Thriller
Lordi – “Would You Love a Monsterman
Friday on Elm Street – “28 Days

I know you said five songs but I really couldn’t decide which song to cut.

Leave a Reply

