Milo McMahon: Who I Knew

milo-mcmahon-who-i-knew-review
The Rock is on in the other room. It’s a show about football that I think eight people on the planet are watching, and two happened to be in this apartment. Instead of smelling what the wrestler turned actor is cooking, I’m listening to Milo McMahon’s Who I Knew to get a jump start on the week. I had to lay down for this one because straight up – it wasn’t something I’d personally want to get down to on my own. Instead it took elements from decades past and then found its way back into today – somewhere off the Silverlake exit, maybe even in some corner of Williamsburg.

Who I Knew ends with the song of the same name and seeing that it was the highlight, I wanted to note it first. It was the only one I could see liking out in the world. Like, hearing it play in a store, and tapping my finger to. Compared the the others, it was the one that sounded like the here and now. That leads me to “Caveman” and “All Or Nothing.” The prehistoric one could be the soundtrack for someone into herbal refreshments and coffee shops, while the other is a b-side of a Spin Doctors record. In the confines of only four songs, Milo manages to time travel with you.

A show about the business side of football has since been replaced by a video game about a father and daughter trying to survive some sort of disaster. While they strive to live, I’m winding down and ready to leave Who I Knew for those who’d appreciate it a lot more than me. If you’re a fan of indie rock that has psychedelic sparks, then this one’s for you. So check out Milo McMahon’s latest, out now.

Leave a Reply

