Bong Mountain: you’re doin’ great!

bong-mountain-youre-doin-great-reviewIt’s Saturday and I’m sitting by the backstage area of Starbucks because it’s the only table with a plug for some reason. Me and my boyfriend are having a creative day because he needs to finish and I need a head start. So while he writes a script he hopes to sell, I’m freezing and listening to Bong Mountain’s you’re doin’ great! Note – the exclamation is all them, not be BUT I will say I enjoyed this record a lot more than I had intended on. It was like Say Anything and Pentimento butted heads and the result was this band with some anger problems that lacked ravel in the vocal department.

Starting off I was hesitant and a little offended with “Pariah Carey” since I love me some Mariah, but hey – A+ for the pun and the music wasn’t half bad either. Then “26 Caroline” came into play and it was this abrasive punk meets indie sound that really kicked the album into high gear. From there I found the best sat in the middle with the song that played out more like a story instantly filled with awkwardness due to its junior high setting, “Why You So Short?” Rounding things out were the ‘90s teen-rebel sounding “Monday Song” as well as the so-so “Symbiosis Midwest.” I felt like Shania Twain with that last one because it didn’t impress me much.

A cold has officially been caught from the frozen tundra that is this Van Nuys’ Starbucks, but through the sniffles I can assure you that if you’re the kind of person who likes bands that are a little bit Dowsing and a little Pentimento, check out this one. Bong Mountain’s you’re doin’ great! is out now – so check and get into it now.

Leave a Reply

