Tayler Buono: Far from Unseen

tayler-buono-interview-golden-mixtapeGet a song on the radio, check. Work with childhood love, check. Dominate the world, working on it. Tayler Buono has done a lot in her lifetime so far, but she isn’t quite done yet. She’s just getting started and I’m glad to have had the chance to exchange some words with her. Like many in the mid-00’s, she was a little too into a certain band of brothers and just a short time later she was working and getting mentored by one of them. If that had happened to me, I would’ve never stopped talking about it. Of course it’d have to be Nick Carter and I’d bring it up every chance I got.

Tayler’s a lot more humble than me and well, obviously talented. She’s the one with music playing on the radio and it’s only a matter of time before Tayler Buono is a household name. Let’s get to know this rising star a bit more…

Kendra: When your music first hit the radio, were you able to have that movie moment where you hear it for the first time and then freak out?

Tayler Buono: Yes, I did! Haha. When my single “Lucky In Love” debuted on the radio, I drove around aimlessly with my producer Kyle listening to it. I definitely freaked out. I took a video of it and posted it on YouTube.

Kendra: “Unseen” is all about being yourself. Do you hope that a lot of the younger fans really grasp onto that message?

Tayler: I do. I wrote “Unseen” during a time I was really struggling with my self-worth. I was in a relationship that wasn’t going well and it took a huge toll on my self-esteem. I feel like so many people have been through this or have struggled with similar things. So many people get stuck in cycles of unhealthy relationships and the reason they feel stuck is because they have forgotten their true worth and value. We have to take a stand for ourselves and understand that we are worth SO much more. Nothing anyone can say or do can take that away from us. “I won’t go on unseen” is a declaration that I won’t settle for anything less than who I am. My hope is that anyone else who struggles with self-worth would feel heard through this song and would start to believe how precious and amazing they are.

Kendra: Being on Radio Disney you’re on a long list of other young females who started there. We’re all aware of where a lot of them are today, but how do you hope your career compares and contrasts with some of them?

Tayler: Well first off I think it’s amazing how supportive Radio Disney is with new artists. They have been so incredible to me and I love them! The music industry is hard and I think it’s so important to know who you are going into it. It’s also important to have a solid team around you to remind you of who you are whenever you stray or go through hard times. I think the music industry is just like anything in life. People are going to make mistakes. I am going to make mistakes. I don’t want people to think I’m some perfect girl because I’m far from it. I just want to be real and authentic, stay true to myself, and help people find joy.

Kendra: Most would kill me if I didn’t ask. What was it like working with Joe Jonas?

Tayler: It was so much fun!! It’s funny because when I was younger I was the biggest Jonas Brothers fan… I had their posters on my walls and everything. I remember coming home from one of their concerts one night when I was 14 years old crying because I wanted to sing and play concerts so badly but had no idea where to start. I never would have thought that just a few years later I’d work with Joe Jonas. We worked together for three days. He came to my house, met my family and friends, and talked a lot about music. He was super nice and chill. I had an amazing time working with him!

Kendra: You’re very pop centric when it comes to your style and influences. So is there anything we’d be surprised to find on your iPod?

Tayler: I listen so many different types of music. Pop, R&B, Singer/Songwriter, EDM, Rap, Classical… Haha. It depends what mood I’m in. I listened to Coldplay and Ellie Goulding a lot this morning.

Kendra: Will you be playing any shows in Orlando or elsewhere soon?

Tayler: Yes, I’ll be setting up shows very soon including Orlando! I’ll be announcing all upcoming concerts on my social media. People can follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook to find out dates!

Kendra: Florida often gets a bad rap due to a lot of bad news coming from there. So if you had to make a mixtape to showcase that it wasn’t that bad, what five songs would have to be on it?

Tayler:
Blaze” – Colbie Caillat
Can’t Get Enough” – Becky G
Honey, I’m Good.” – Andy Grammer
Uptown Funk” – Mark Ronson & Bruno Mars
Part of Your World” – The Little Mermaid

Leave a Reply

