Ryan Schmidt: Love ‘Em or Lust ‘Em

ryan-schmidt-interview-golden-mixtapeIt’s rare that someone like me gets to talk to someone who’s been featured in GQ. No, the following is not my in depth interview with Charlie Hunnam about his life between Undeclared and Sons of Anarchy and what made his body transform the way it did. No, this is an exchange of emails between me and Ryan Schmidt.

We talked about what else in life he considered doing and like most of us, superhero was high on the list. Life being a beach was another topic on the table. I won’t give you all the details and just let you get to enjoying what Ryan had to say.

Kendra: You went to college for music. At what age did you decide that this was it, music was the thing you wanted to spend your life doing?

Ryan Schmidt: Music has always been a part of my life. I started my music education in the elementary school marching band with the saxophone. During high school, after playing an open mic at the local bar, I met a couple that set my music career in motion. Over dinner we talked about life, music and everything in between. We talked about the importance of truly loving what you do. This conversation was the first time I considered music a viable option. I haven’t looked back since!

Kendra: Was there ever any other career choice you had in mind?

Ryan: Over the years, I’ve considered everything from lion tamer and Power Ranger to journalist and social media guru. I’ve always been passionate about helping others in this industry. I wouldn’t rule out artist management or entertainment law in the future.

Kendra: You obviously chose right. You were in GQ’s Men of the Year issue. What was your reaction to being featured in that? Because um…Hello, men like Channing Tatum and Chris Pratt cover that.

Ryan: Channing Tatum and Chris Pratt are my spirit animals. Yeah, GQ was an awesomely strange moment for me. During a songwriting trip in LA, I ended up at the Men of the Year party. They sure know how to celebrate at those sorts of things! Months later I got a tweet from a fan who spotted me in GQ. I was surprised as anyone to have made the cut.

Kendra: Summers by the Atlantic shores were the inspiration for “Sunburn.” While you obviously had a million and one great memories there, what is one of the bad ones sitting in the back of your mind? Like maybe a seagull did his business on you, a wave took something of yours, etc.

Ryan: I lost my license for speeding the summer of my 17th birthday. Suffice to say, your social options are limited when you have to bike everywhere.

Kendra: Going off your debut. What’s something you’ll forever love, and what’s or maybe who is someone you’ll forever lust after?

Ryan: Lovelust contained the full range of the romantic spectrum for me. I’ll forever love the thrill of getting lost in a great song and forever chase creating a few of my own.

Kendra: Having already shared the stage with the likes of Lights and Matt Nathanson, who are three other artists you hope to tour with?

Ryan: There are a few artists who are really challenging the system and thriving because of it. I have a deep respect for what Hozier, Tove Lo and Charli XCX are doing right now.

Kendra: Speaking of, are you going to be playing any shows in 2015?

Ryan: There are a few private college shows in the works, but at the moment I’m really loving everything Nashville has to teach me about songwriting and life.

Kendra: So…you’re a crazy cat lady? How many are around the house…do we need to call TLC and that Strange Addiction show on you?

Ryan: Back in June I adopted the best little rescue kitten, so just one at the moment. It’s crazy how quickly I went from a “dog person” to leash training this cat and taking her everywhere I travel. I’ll be sure to let you know if it ever reaches TLC proportions.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape for someone to take to the shore, what five songs would have to be on it?

Ryan: No trip to the beach would be complete without:
Talking Body” – Tove Lo
Hands Are Better” – Alex Clare
Forever, Now and Then” – Clem Snide
The Sun Is Gonna Rise Again” – Cris Cab
Over The Rainbow” – Cosmic Gate

Leave a Reply

