Top 5 TV Shows of 2014

top-tv-2014This may be a music blog but my main love will always be television. I just can’t explain the feeling I get when September rolls around and shows both new and old start to enter my life and make it somewhat whole again…Alas, here are my favorite TV loves from the past year.

5. Enlisted

top-tv-2014-enlistedWhile it didn’t get renewed and was shot down, this show was golden and could’ve managed to survive had Fox believed in it a little more and not cast it aside to a Friday night timeslot. Three brothers, all very different, in what is essentially the rejects section of the Army was charming, heartfelt and most times hilarious. I wish we could’ve had more time together but that’s what Fox likes to do – make you fall in love and then yank it out from under you.

4. A to Z

top-tv-2014-a-to-zI really should’ve titled this “Shows that Really Deserved More Love in 2014.” I didn’t think I was going to like this one as much as I did but once we learned it was going to end way sooner than later – it became background noise as I typed this or that. Nevertheless, it was fun while it lasted and it really does help breakdown the dos and don’ts a new relationship.

3. About a Boy

top-tv-2014-about-a-boyAgain, another one I didn’t think I’d like but the creator spawned Parenthood so how could I not give it a shot? The beginning was an endearing look at a manchild and his odd relationship with his new pint size neighbor, but I have to say now that we’re on to the second season – I’m over the kid and way more into the adults and what they have going on.

2. The Goldbergs

STANDING: JEFF GARLIN, WENDI MCLENDON-COVEY, GEORGE SEGAL;   SEATED: SEAN GIAMBRONE, HAYLEY ORRANTIA, TROY GENTILEI’m still kicking myself that I had to binge on this earlier this year because I was dumb enough to skip it in the Fall of 2013. After I caught up this Spring and then was ready to dive head first into season two, I was stoked. It’s hard as hell for people to focus on decades in a show without it coming off as trying too hard *cough* That ‘80s Show *cough* but this one is perfection. Their homages to ‘80s pop culture makes you feel like the ‘90s and ‘00s have yet to even happen yet.

1. Black-ish

top-tv-2014-blackishThis one got some flack but if those people who judged it would actually watch more than the pilot, they’d see it’s not always about black and white – it’s about family at its core. Anyways, this show needed to be made and I’m ecstatic that it continues to do well in what we’ve deemed the death spot on ABC; Wednesdays at 9:30pm.

Leave a Reply

