Top 10 Thursday: Parental Picks

top-10-thursday-parental-picksThis week both of my parents celebrate their birthdays, and it’s this week that I wish I still lived at home because that’d mean twice the cake – even though I’m sure my dad wouldn’t even want one because he’s been on a diet ever since I could remember. It’s one of those diets that have no real results. Anyways, to celebrate the sperm and egg I came from I picked 10 songs that remind me of them – from ones they love to ones that strike up fond memories.

10. Etta James “At Last”

My dad’s girlfriend…

9. Sublime “Santeria”

My mom’s true blue SoCal shines bright with her love of this jam.

8. Western Movie Music

Every time my dad visits, to this day, he asks where the western movies are. We say we don’t get those channels.

7. Backstreet Boys “I Want It That Way”

The only song from the Boys that she retained in all my years of loving them.

6. Looney Tunes Theme

My dad has a strong love for Wile E. Coyote.

5. Nelly feat. Kelly Rowland “Dilemma”

That one time my mom made us listen to this 3526342352 times in a row…

4. Jeopardy Thinking Music

Some of my favorite memories of my dad involve watching Jeopardy and not knowing how the hell that show worked as a kid.

3. Taylor Swift “Love Story”

“MAKE THIS MY RINGTONE!” my mom.

2. B.B. King “Rock Me, Baby”

We always give my dad shit on this guy always sitting during his performances.

1. Cher “If I Could Turn Back Time”

This is my mom’s idol…and she for real used to look like her back in the ’70s.

Leave a Reply

