Top 10 Thursdays: Albums I Wish I’d Written

top-10-thursdays-albums-id-wish-id-written
So I’m starting (at least trying) this new thing called “Top 10 Thursdays” and I hope that I’ll be able to keep it up. Let’s get to the first of this, shall we?

It’s rare that you find an album that’s almost 100%. Yes, we all have our favorites but oddly enough – most of mine aren’t one’s I truly wish I’d written. The following are records that I respect on a whole different level. They resonate with a certain time in my life and captured it perfectly, were great from start to finish or just plainly mesmerized me.

10. The Academy Is…:  Almost Here
the-academy-is-almost-hereThe summer of 2006 would not have been the same without this one. I spent many a nights just bathed in its infectious yet sassy ways.

9. Jack’s Mannequin: Everything In Transit
jacks-mannequin-everything-in-transitAnother album riddled with summer anthems.

8. Colbie Caillat: Coco
colbie-caillat-cocoIf I could construct my girly emotions into musical delights, I’d want them to sound just like this record.

7. Finch: What It Is To Burn
finch-what-it-is-to-burnIt’s not surprising they were able to tour off this one’s 10 year anniversary for what seemed like five years – it’s a stunning piece of music from point A to point B.

6. Alanis Morissette: Jagged Little Pill
Alanis_Morissette_-_Jagged_Little_PillAll hail the queen of female empowerment.

5. Fall Out Boy: From Under The Cork Tree
Fall_Out_Boy_-_From_Under_the_Cork_Tree_-_CD_album_coverI’m not sure what any of the songs mean, but I wish I could write in the puzzling way.

4. Katy Perry: One Of The Boys
Katy_Perry_-_One_of_the_BoysOne of the greatest pop records in recent years, hands down.

3. Good Charlotte: Good Charlotte
good-charlotte-self-titledMy adolescence was given a soundtrack and this was it.

2. Motion City Soundtrack: Commit This to Memory
motion-city-soundtrack-commit-this-to-memoryThe rambling sensations are sensational.

1. Panic! at the Disco: A Fever Can’t Sweat Out
panic-at-the-disco-a-fever-you-cant-sweat-outIt was unlike anything we’d heard at the time mixing cabaret with pop and adding an insane amount of sex appeal.

Leave a Reply

