Overholt: Goner

overholt-goner-reviewGood news, last week I was a ball of Dawson’s Creek drama drowning in tear filled ice-cream…and this week I’m kind of back to normal, and it isn’t just because I don’t have any more frozen treats. I’m better, my mind’s a little clearer and I have some new music from Overholt. Goner is one of those records that sit well with those who appreciate singer songwriters who can tie in all sorts of influences from soul to folk…

Thing started off slow for me. Nothing really managed to make me turn my head until things got a little weird with “Goner Pt. 1” and then the album started to show some heart with “Start Over.” Then it was a string of ones to definitely check out. You had the heart, the cool cat ways of “Cataracts” and then the very folk inspired “West Virginia.” From the folk of WV to the soul of “We Belong Here,” the aforementioned tracks are the ones that continued to pull me back.

As my head continues to clear, I bit a farewell to my time with Overholt and wish him well on his musical journey. I suggest you join him if you dabble in up-and-coming showcases in your hometown and are always on the hunt for someone who’s got a easygoing demeanor chalked full of layers and also like artists that fall somewhere between Matt Nathanson and Landon Pigg. That sound like you? Then check out Goner, out now and check out “Wise Young Men” below.

Leave a Reply

