Cable Car: Transitions Between and an Anchorman and a Renaissance Man

cable-car-interview-golden-mixtapePeople who relentlessly work towards their dreams are far better than normal people who just accept the cards that are dealt to them; dreamers constantly shuffle their deck. With that said, it’s safe to say Cable Car’s cards are never sitting still. They’re three men who moved to LA to make a life out of creating. They act, they sing, they play instruments – Can they dance? I forgot to ask to see if they were that well rounded but let’s just assume that’s in their bag of tricks too. Dancing and an ability to make music that’s harder to label than a jar in an earthquake. Rock, R&B, pop…It’s all there and they make it work.

Below you’ll find out Cable Car’s take on the LA life, transitions, musicians and more.

Kendra: What was the first song you ever admired for the lyrics and musicianship?

Jack: Lyrically, I think it was early John Mayer. It was later when I watched him play his hits acoustically that I realized he’s impossibly developed as a musician. I guess that’s why he’s been super successful…

Ryan:  “Juicy” by Biggie was probably the first track I heard, and couldn’t feel anything lyrically beyond what he’d written and rhymed.  It is so stark, yet expertly crafted.  Musically, Iron Maiden’s “Hallowed Be Thy Name” is probably my favorite song.  That main riff is perfect.  PERFECT.

Nathan: “Walk Away” by Ben Harper.  I remember my friend Melanie Close coming into my high school dorm room and saying, “You’ve got to hear this!” We sat on my bed and listened together.  I felt that for the first time, I was hearing what it meant to pair intentional lyrics with emotive performance.  I took that lesson with me for sure

Kendra: When you moved to LA was it for the music or the acting?

Jack: For me it was acting, and then I met these really talented guys called Ryan Murphy and Nate Mott and they asked me to be in the band called Cable Car. I still can’t believe they haven’t got rid of me yet.

Ryan: I moved to LA for the adventure.  Nate and I moved out to work on music, and in the process found ourselves and our drive, and a damn handsome gent named Jack Turner.  It’s wild to be in a really creative circle, and I feel like the three of us are just so interested in creating and sharing our efforts that any medium to express ourselves is fair game.  Music will always be my main driving force, though.  Everything I feel is through sound.

Kendra: How long did it take you to learn the ropes of “the business” once you got to LA, or are you still doing your homework?

Jack: I think we know just enough to hang ourselves. We’ll either make it big first or not…

Ryan: I think the best way to approach it is quite cliché: everyday is a learning experience.  I think we’ve been fortunate to assemble a great team around us, so far, so we are leaps and bounds from where we started, but there’s a long (hopefully lifelong) road ahead.

Nathan: In the end it’s only people. Some you work easily with and others you don’t. I cherish the opportunity to make new friends as I learn the industry.

Kendra: What’s a harder transition, an actor becoming a musician, or a musician becoming an actor and why?

Jack: I actually think neither transition is tough if you have the fundamentals to back it up. I think taking ownership of any creativity is quite difficult in our society. But once you’ve done it for one art form, taking on others actually makes your expression truer and more powerful across all art forms; which is kinda beautiful.

Nathan: I agree I think both art forms only serve to better the other so the transition is smooth either way.

Kendra:  What made you cover that Justin Timberlake song?

Jack: The original is so good! And timeless/classic, but modern. And we knew Nate would kill it. It fits us well because of the vocals, the incredible guitar part and the killer percussion. Also, it frightened the shit out of us! That’s a good reason.

Ryan: He is our generation’s renaissance man.  Yet, he seems to also be a solid human being.  I think we were attracted to the honesty and feel of that track.  With Nate’s vocal and Jack’s ability to bend melodies to become his own, we really had the upper hand.

Nathan: I was terrified to do it. Jack presented the idea of doing a song off the 20/20 Experience because the album was hot at the time (still is).  Honestly, I just couldn’t back down from the challenge.

Kendra: I wish I could say your style was all over the place, but it’s actually a good balance of multiple genres that mesh well together; the R&B, the pop, the rock. So if you had to place your music in an upcoming movie, which would it fit best in and why?

Jack: One of my movies, haha! No, all kidding aside, we have a couple of our tracks lined up for some really great movies and documentaries. A director friend Zach Brown asked us to write a song for his upcoming documentary Mountain Man, and we hope to get “It’s You” in his upcoming feature film Patience, which I will act in.

Nathan: I’m a bit of a sci-fi nerd. Give me a placement in any upcoming sci-fi flick and I’m a happy man. Maybe have “It’s You” playing over some alien sex scene?

Ryan: Again, we’ve been fortunate to have made great connections with some incredibly talented, gracious people which has allowed our music to cross into their creative output.  Honestly, I’d love to place one of our tracks in a superhero movie.  I find those movies use music so well to carry emotive qualities that are maybe removed by the fantasy elements.  I think “Wait For Me” could really hit home to any audience.

Kendra: Let’s fast forward 20 years from now and you’re getting your own Behind the Music, but the OG narrator isn’t around anymore – who would you want to narrate it? No cheating and saying James Earl Jones or Morgan Freeman.

Nathan: Absolutely, without a doubt Will Ferrell but in his Anchorman character.

Ryan: In the most selfless way, I think ourselves.  This journey is so fresh, but so much our own, I think we and our confidants would be the best narrators.  We’ve created this world together from nothing, so for now, I think the awe we’re in with how well this project has been received would keep us honest.  20 years from now, though?  Who knows.  I’ll give Kiefer Sutherland the nod for now.  Also gets my party nod…dude goes HARD.

Kendra: Now back to the present and on to the future, what’s the future hold for you guys?

Jack: Short term more writing and performing, and taking our own production to a new level. We’re excited that we’re going to play a Ted Talk in December. Really we want to play for a lot of people and get our music out there, so getting on the road for a big act would be great.

Ryan: Making undeniable records.  Making undeniable live shows.

Nathan: License, License, License, write, write, write, tour, tour, tour.  Repeat. Drink a few cheeky pints while we’re at it.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape titled “Songs That Groove,” what five songs would have to be on it?

Cable Car:
D’Angelo – “Cruisin
Robby Hunter –  “A Day in the Life of the Magic City Hippies”, although I’m not sure if that “Grooves” or “Jams!!”
Bad Rabbits – “Can’t Fool Me
SBTRKT ft. Little Dragon – “Wildfire
Jeff Buckley – “Everyone Here Wants You

Leave a Reply

