Jodi Good: Empower Your Differences

jodi-good-interview-golden-mixtapeWendy Williams has this term “friend in my head” that refers to her idea that people she doesn’t know would be her good friends if they just had the chance to meet. Basically this is the grown up version of imaginary friends. So I’d like to take this second to introduce you the most recent friend in my head, Jodi Good. We wouldn’t necessarily be friends just because she’s a heartfelt singer/songwriter from New York City who couldn’t be trusted with a map, but more so because she appreciates my favorite musical act ever and the thicker ladies of life.

Jodi’s album Definitely Different comes out at the end of the month and it already has a song that’s made my end of the year list based on one lyric that hits close to home. I’ve accepted it as a new life motto and will have a review of the rest of the record in a week or so, but for now this interview will definitely hold you over because it’s different in the way that it sounds like two pals just chatting about everything from technicalities to boy bands to NYC.

Kendra: Before we get to anything else…Was your first crush Brian Littrell of BSB? If so, you got that much more amazing. I was always a Nick Carter kind of gal.

Jodi Good: Ah yes, he was my fav! Something about him as a quiet boy who still had something to say. *embarrassing moment* When I saw the BSB in concert when I was 10 years old, Brian did a dance move where he reached to the audience. I was in the 54th row, so it clearly wasn’t directed to me! But as soon as his hand stretched out, I screamed and jumped like we were the only ones in the room.

Kendra: Now on to business. Did going to Berklee make you worry more about the technical side of recording when you went in to make Definitely Different?

Jodi Good: Honestly? No. For some reason, it has always stuck in my head that art has no rules. I learned things about song structure at Berklee and “how to write a pop song,” but I’m going to bet that The Beatles didn’t write their songs based on a book. Then again, I’m not sure if they did and I really don’t care. I wholeheartedly believe a song should be a reflection of your soul (if you want it to be) – imperfect, beautiful, human, and true.

Kendra: You’ve dubbed Definitely Different as “empowering pop,” so if your album was going to be the soundtrack for a great, powerful leader (past or present) who would it be and why? Don’t be afraid to think outside the box on this one!

Jodi Good: Hmm great question! I would have to say Marilyn Monroe. I love and identify with all the quotes I ever read by her. Although she was a sex symbol and always in the public eye, she wasn’t vapid. Plus, she was recognized as one of the most beautiful women and she wasn’t a size 2. I will always love that.

Kendra: You have a lyric that really touched close to home “I may not have a real job, but believe I work damn hard.” Do you often feel that people who have 9-5 jobs don’t take you seriously?

Jodi Good: Thank you so much! I definitely do feel that way. I just try to remind myself that every artist/athlete/out-of-the-box thinker has to deal with this! Also, one of my favorite quotes is, “you’re only crazy until your genius” (not sure if I made that up or not haha). This means that there is a fine line between crazy and brilliant. People are so ready to call you crazy until you “arrive” at your goals. I’m not sure if this strayed away from your question, but it is very disheartening to get questioned by a “9 to 5-er.”

Kendra: When you performed at Sundance was the crowd full of famous faces? If so, nerve-racking much?

Jodi Good: Kind of. The crowd wasn’t full of A-list celebrities who we would recognize. However, there were “big time producers/publishers” who are a more inconspicuous kind of famous. I may not have recognized them, but I knew they were there. Of course it was nerve racking, but it was such a blessing. That mindset kind of kicked in and took over the fear.

Kendra: Did you ever have a problem with stage freight? Any remedies you can share if you battled it and won?

Jodi Good: Ever? I still do! I’ll admit that it has gotten better because growing up I wouldn’t even sing for people. The only advice that ever helped me was from the beautiful Dilia Jelen (another NYC singer/songwriter). She told me to think of myself as a vessel on stage sharing a gift that was given to me, rather than trying to “perform.” I personally hate being like “look at me,” but this is a beautiful new way for me to look at going on stage. I almost have an obligation to the audience. It takes the pressure off of worrying about how I look and what I’m doing with my hands on stage haha. There is a higher purpose.

Kendra: Being that you’re a NYC native, do you find you have some advantages over those who move out there to “make it” in music?

Jodi Good: Absolutely not. Maybe if I was a normal person! Just because I’m native to the city doesn’t mean I have explored more or found my way any better. Until recently, I have felt lost. A New York zip code was all that made me a New Yorker. Some people dream about moving here, have a plan of attack, and just take the city by storm. I think it all comes down to people’s strengths. I will forever be directionally challenged and that’s putting it nicely. Also, since I lived here I may have taken it for granted…”I can always check that place out next week.”

Kendra: Are there clear differences between a New York musician and an out-of-towner you can spot quickly?

Jodi Good: It really depends on the musician. For the most part though, I am going to say out-of-towners go more at their own pace and don’t do things as fast as New Yorkers! Also, in my experience they are usually more polite.

Kendra: You play quite often in NYC, any plans to branch out, maybe head west?

Jodi Good: Absolutely! I would play anywhere. The only tricky part is scheduling. I’m the least organized person ever.

Kendra: If you had to make a mixtape of the top five songs you’d not only want to cover, but perform with the original artist, what would they be?

Jodi Good: This is a tough one! I love so many songs and artists from all different genres! But I’ll pick the 5 that come to mind right now.

Black and Gold” Katy Perry (even though she is not the original artist)
You Were Meant For Me” Jewel
Sing for the Moment” Eminem (told you this was an eclectic bunch haha)
Beautiful Disaster” Kelly Clarkson
Daughters” John Mayer

Check out her latest single “Definitely Different” below:

One thought on “Jodi Good: Empower Your Differences

Leave a Reply

