Young Statues: Age Isn’t Ours

Musicians often write about age, marking certain numbers with stigmas. The one that frequently comes to mind is Blink 182’s, “What’s My Age Again?” Apparently, everyone stopped liking me 3 years ago, and now I’m fucked and old. And Paramore began their midlife crisis a year early at 22. It’s no wonder that, at 26, I constantly question what my age and all the accomplishments I’ve made project to the world, and then Young Statues provided me with a philosophical insight with their latest EP, Age Isn’t Ours.

Age Isn’t Ours  features 6 tracks that touch on those personal failures and successes of singer, Carmen Cirignano, in the last year. But not once does he remark that a numbered age is the ultimate downfall of relationships – friendly and romantic. He does mention the teenagehood in “Ghost Passenger,” but because numbers are limiting, I feel that Cirignano is commenting more on a phase of life, which can last years and years past its expiration date.

The lead-in track is “Eraser,” an energetic indie-pop favorite. Its come-on is slow, but moves in quickly and captures that back-burner feeling. As the song progresses, the track seems to end as it, but then quickly begins again. Content reflects structure and vise versa; there is no ending at the start. The next song, “So You Wait,” shared a few brief seconds with the likes of Snow Patrol. No, I don’t mean to say Gary Lightbody made a featured appearance, but the ambiance of a SP introduction did. This lasted all for about 10 seconds before Young Statues began chasing cars. Instead, “Ghost Passenger,” puts us in the front seat with a driver not too keen on driving in reverse. Unlike Modest Mouse’s “Float On,” you “can’t keep float when you live with a ghost.”

In final tracks of Age Isn’t Ours, I was yet again reminded of Paramore. “Hung Me Out to Dry,” begins like a Paramore interlude, with heavy reverb and distance from the singer. However, Young Statues hasn’t played into the ukulele hype and keeps it old school with acoustic guitars. Although I’m semi biased because I’m a fan of artists such as Larry and His Flask and Mumford & Songs, “My Only Friend,” is my favorite on the record. It carries harmonies and a prominent bass line, encompassing that communal feel that happens when you put on an album like Babel. The lyrics in this song, however, are more emo-driven and reminiscent of pop punk with imagery like, “Find a button rewind on my heart.” I may have taken this more literally, because I rewound and listened to this over, and over again.

“Foolish” completes the arc of the album, with an empowering statement: “I want you to waste your time to find it for yourself.” And I feel as though Young Statues is reminding us all to ignore pop culture references regarding age and time, and to seek out what’s true of ourselves. Love and loss weave in and out of our lives everyday, at any age, and despite our experiences we handle each situation with a different level of maturity. You won’t, however, be wasting time listening to this album and making those discoveries for yourself.

Age Isn’t Ours is now available on Run For Cover Records, and be sure to catch Young Statues on tour with Transit.

One thought on “Young Statues: Age Isn’t Ours

Leave a Reply

