Pentimento/Young English: Split

They say falling in love in an instant is reserved only for RomComs starring the likes of Kate Hudson, well I don’t see a catering table anywhere. My love at first listen for Pentimento came last year as soon as Wrecked was locked and loaded on my iPod. I said it was packed with “raw honesty” and meant it. Months later Young English entered my world and I compared the two without even knowing that they had plans of doing a split which is cleverly titled Split. Four tracks each, including a cover is what you can find early if you get Split through Panic Records on March 27th, but if you’re okay with waiting (and you shouldn’t be), you’ll have it down the road when it’s on shelves April 17th.

I’m a virgin to reviewing a split, so I’ll try and go slow so I don’t get hurt. Pentimento’s half of Split is what I like to call the dark side. Not so much because of the content because Young English can dish their harsh words around just as well, but because of Jeremiah’s vocal abilities. While he doesn’t sound as pissed as he did on Wrecked, he was still able to make me think, don’t get in that guys way. An all-star in this group has to be “L’esprit De Escalier (The Stairs).” The title led me to Google, but on the way I got sidetracked by the song and went back to listening. On Wrecked every song kicked off with a force, this one had a buildup. It was nice to see them change things up a bit. Now for the cover…I was like oh hell no, how can this badass band take a song from one of the most emotionally driven albums and make it their own? Doubts were quickly forgotten as it became the most played on my iTunes this week.

Now for the lighter half, musically, of Split. Young English had I Hate My Friends out late last year, so fans will be happy to hear new material so soon, and they won’t be disappointed. I went in bias with this, thinking I’d love Pentimento’s half better, I didn’t. I enjoyed both the same. This is due hugely to Young English’s “”Old Wives Tale” and its resemblance to Taking Back Sunday’s Adam Lazzara. Listen and tell me that doesn’t sound similar to Adam in “Call Me In The Morning.” Mic swinging aside, I call this the lighter side of Split because no song sounds mad, just reflective to realistic situations and instances of being “left for dead.” And since Pentimento’s cover had a light shone on it, Young English did what they could to revive a classic from the 90’s (can you believe that’s almost oldies?); Smashing Pumpkins’ “Tonight, Tonight.” Confession, I loathe the Pumpkins, but Young English was able to make me listen to that song in its entirety for the first time ever.

Split is like Star Wars and if you read the above I don’t need to explain why, if I do, then you’re a lost cause in the pop culture spectrum. Both sides are necessary to be balanced in the universe and in this case the universe is a musically sound one indeed. I’m glad to say Split has a home with me and you can give it a nice, warm spot as well if you get it through Panic Records on March 27th and for the slackers, get it April 17th.

One thought on “Pentimento/Young English: Split

Leave a comment