Dave & Marissa; …Explain It All

I’m a girl with a lot of angst still in me from my middle school days of filling up notebook after notebook with boys names who’d never like me, and when I listen to Dave & Marissa’s …Explain It All, I am taken back to those times. It’s not because Marissa is an angry girl, but because I can hear the heart behind the words she delivers on this EP. It’s not shallow, girly pop. It lacks the shine and shimmer of girl rockers out nowadays because of it’s depth. But not to leave Dave out, his back and forth with Marissa in “Make Yourself Comfortable” stands out and showcases this isn’t a band with one person standing center stage. Do you fill you iPod with the likes of Bright Eyes and Katy Rose? Then add Dave & Marissa’s …Explain It All to your collection.

Leave a Reply

