A Modern Day Bug Juice with San Cisco

If there’s one thing you should know about me, you should know I’m always late to the party when it comes to music. I put the blame somewhat on my childhood so I feel like I’m playing catch up. It does not help I simply refuse to the radio and only listen to what’s on my ipod. So for me, the whole “indie pop” and “folk” music is something I’m starting to discover while a majority of my college friends are already immerse in that genre.  But hopefully, I’m at least one step ahead this time around because Australian group, San Cisco, may very well be my new favorite band and hopefully will be yours too.

The video for Golden Revolver can only be described as fun. The style of the video plays homage to the past of home recorded movies and summer. The best part, they built their own raft and down the river they went. There’s something nostalgic about their video and it quickly reminds me of my childhood days of yearning to be on Disney’s Bug Juice. But aside from their homage to the camp grounds, San Cisco is filled with gang chorus and catchy guitar riffs. They’ve been compared to the likes of Vampire Weekend and I can see why. The upbeat tempo of Golden Revolver has a Vampiresque to it. I get it, it’s upbeat, folky, but continues with the indie sound. However, I don’t doubt they’ll shed that comparison soon enough and make a name for themselves.

There’s something special about San Cisco that I can’t put my finger on. Maybe it’s the fact a girl is rocking the drums like no other, the fact they are from Australia, whatever it is, I like them and can’t wait to get my hands on Golden Revolver EP. I’ll never be a music critic, I just don’t have the true ear to tell the difference, but my ears they know what they like and San Cisco is definitely making their way on my iPod.

originally published on Oct 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

